The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)

Director: Ben Stiller
USA, English

Hello everyone! Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. Life gets in the way and I have to put this blog on hold. However, it does not mean I stopped watching movies!

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, what can I say about this film. I think the word “wow” fits this.

Walter Mitty (Ben Stiller) is working at Life magazine as a negative assets manager. Walter spends his time daydreaming of the “what if’s” in his life, that includes his crush on his coworker Cheryl (Kristen Wiig). Walter finds out that Life magazine will be printing it’s final issue and going completely online. For the final issue, the corporate transition manager, Ted Hendricks (Adam Scott) asked Walter for a negative from photographer Sean O’Connell (Sean Penn). Walter realizes the negative is missing. Since Sean is out of the country taking pictures, Walter can’t get a hold of him. So Walter set out to find Sean and the missing negative.
Enjoyed-
Oh the feelings: This movie brought the wanderlust out. I wish I traveled more, explored more, adventured more. I feel like life has been passing by. These past few years have been rough and I’ve been trying to get my foot planted. But I feel like I’m at a point where I can kick it up a notch. This movie made me feel like I can do that again. Who knew a movie could make me feel that way.

Imagery: Just watching the shots where we see the landscape was astonishing. I love a good shot.

A good laugh: I think the scenes where we’re in-between Walter’s reality and dreams were funny. Maybe I’m used to hella funny Ben Stiller, but they felt good for a not so funny movie.

Characters: Adam Scott was the biggest asshole in the world, but he was great at it! I loved to hate his character. Sean Penn was a sort of serious funny. He was always rooting for Walter. Ben Stiller as Walter took me a minute to adjust. I’m so used to him being hilarious. For him to be serious and not super out there funny was a little odd. But it proved his acting chops.
The eHarmony Guy, Todd (Patton Oswalt) I LOVED THIS GUY! Maybe my favorite person in the whole movie! He was so invested in Walter’s live behind eHarmony. I love him.

I could do without-
Characters: I just couldn’t like Kristen Wiig’s character. She was so plain and ordinary. But I guess what’s just what we are. Plain and ordinary. Her character didn’t strike me as something to remember.

Something was missing: I just can’t figure it out. As much as I did enjoy the movie, I left the theater thinking, “that was it?” Maybe I wanted more adventure. Maybe I wanted Walter to do more. I don’t know, I felt something missing.

Overall-
A feel good movie. Target audience was a little older, but I still liked it. I just loved that this movie made me feel like going exploring.

My Rating: 7/10

One thought on “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)

  1. Pingback: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – Film Review | teacupsandthings

Leave a comment