Iron Man 3 (2013)

Directed : Shane Black
USA, English

After coming back from my California trip, my boyfriend decides to bug me about watching this movie REAL LATE AT NIGHT. Not that I didn’t want to watch it, I just wanted to see it in the IMAX theater at the Pacific Science Center. So we decided to watch it that same night. Thank God I did!

Heres a little summary: Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) is not the same since The Avengers. He’s tripping out balls. He spends most of his time building more Iron Man suits. As the movie progresses, we find out that there is a terrorist named “The Mandarin”. He is killing off people but not leaving any evidence.

A man named Aldrich Krillin comes into the picture trying to swoop in on Stark’s girlfriend, Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow). Krillin has created a way for those who have lost limbs to recover. Turns out years ago, Krillin met Stark and Stark left him abandon on a roof. Those who were part of Krillin’s project were amputees. They all got their limbs back, but become some sort of mutant with super powers.

Krillin ends up being the one behind “The Mandarin”. Stark finds out. They have a crazy epic battle with all the suits he made and shit went down. Potts ended up getting captured and turned into a glowing mutant herself with super powers.

Bing. Bang. Boom. Iron Man saves the day.

Obviously I left a lot out. But I didn’t want to write it all.

gwyneth-paltrow-pepper-potts-iron-man-3I love films that connect with other films, references to The Avengers all over. Movies being in the same universe equals cool. I also love how bad ass Pepper got to be. She showed on screen that she wasn’t a damsel in distress, but a woman who can handle her own shit and the shit of her lover.

This film definitely passed when it came to humor. Especially the scenes with Col. James “Rhodey” Rhodes (Don Cheadle) and Tony together. Tony’s arrogant personality and James putting up with Tony made the film just better for me.

Was this better than the last Iron Man films? I can’t say. But I definitely enjoyed watching this movie.

PS. The end credits were awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

