World War Z (2013)

Director: Marc Forster
USA, English

I was plesently surprised how much I actually liked this film. From the trailers I had no idea what they were running from. I guess I should of got the hint “World War Z” Z as in ZOMBIE. Ugh I feel dumb.

Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt) is a former UN employee. He changed his life to be closer to his family. However, when an outbreak of zombies occurs., he is called upon to help find the source and to look for a cure.

This movie was interesting to watch. I was captivated by the story. We watch the Lane family escape the zombie attack. Then Gerry goes off and travels around the world searching for clues. I enjoyed the mystery of the story. I caught myself looking for clues while in the theater.

Brad Pitt’s performance proves he still got it. He is a loving father and husband who is ready to do whatever it takes to save his family. Pitt was believable.

One of my favorite moments of the film is when the family pretty much adopts a boy named Tommy. Tommy’s family helped the Lane family hide form the zombies. After the Lanes left, Tommy’s family was attacked by zombies and was able to escape. He manages to catch up with the Lanes and they took him in for the rest of the film.

I had no idea that this film was a book. World War Z is suppose to have different perspectives of the war. I’m pretty excited to watch more films if they decide to create more. You’re reading this from a person who isn’t big on zombie ANYTHING. To have me excited about a zombie movie pretty much means this was real good.

The film felt like an adventure. An adventure to help the world.

My Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

