Out of Print (2012)

Director: Vivienne Roumani
USA, English

I just watched a very interesting documentary. Out of Print focuses on what may happen to books in the future of this technological generation. The doc has varies interviews with scholars, authors, teacher, and children about their view of reading and books in general. It’s also narrated by Meryl Streep.

Books are becoming obsolete. With the rise of e-books and the internet, book sales are going down and the number of people who actually visit the library or pick up a physical book is also diminishing.

Much of the older generation has a fear that we are becoming more and more illiterate. Our society has submerge into the computer age and we are no longer reading the long novel stories of the past. Children and teens find that reading takes too much time and they need to find a faster way to get the information.

I can relate to this documentary because I come from a generation that was merging technology with the traditional ways. Computers were a new thing in our schools and we had the big bulky ones. We never used laptops in the classroom and we read a lot of physical books. My peers and I graduated high school a while now and I see young kids with technology in the classroom like I’ve never seen before.

I am guilty of half-ass reading. I would read a snippet and then just spark notes the rest. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy fully reading other books. The film makes a point that kids in school today aren’t reading as much, but they are looking for short cuts so they can have more time to do other things.

I personally still love reading books. I like turning pages and owning a book. But I can see the connivence of storing all your books in an e-reader. It’s also much cheaper than buying tons and tons of books.

This movie was enlightening. It makes you take a step back and look at the technology around you and see what important things are fading away.

My Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

