Despicable Me 2 (2013)

Directors: Pierre Coffin & Chris Renaud
USA, English

Got watch this cute movie on the 4th of July (Happy Birthday America) and I thought it was cute.

Felonious Gru (Steven Carell) and his girls Margo (Miranda Cosgrove), Edith (Dana Gaier), and Agnes (Elsie Fisher) are back. Don’t forget the Minions! They are all back with their cuteness.

Gru has given up his life of crime to become a father and to sell jellies and jams…yes. Jellies and jams… However, he is recruited by a top secret agency called the Anti-Villain League (AVL). The need his help in capturing a villain by the help of an ex-villain. After refusing it a few times, Gru finally agrees and partners up with Lucy Wilde (Kristen Wigg).

I could go on and on how the movie went. But it looks like you’ll need to watch it for the full details. What I enjoyed about this movie was how we got to watch Gru growing into a loving father. It was funny to watch him freak out over Margo’s crush on a boy. It was also awesome to watch Gru fall for someone and get married.

Not to mention, I love the minions! I thought it was cool how Gru and the girls could tell them apart! At the end they were singing “I Swear” in their language and it was awesome!

Pharrell Williams mentioned in an interview I overheard from somewhere that the music was going to have more of a funk sound. It showed in the film. Music was good to my ears and made me want to dance. I’m sure the kids in the theatre enjoyed it too!

Did the film lack anything? Not really, but it was for sure a movie that kids will enjoy. Maybe since I’m older I wasn’t too excited about it. But I for sure liked it.

My Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

