R.I.P.D. (2013)

Director: Robert Schwentke
USA, English

Oh man It’s been awhile. AGAIN.My bad friends.

Rest in Peace Department. R.I.P.D. This was not Ryan Reynolds’ best movie. It was interesting.

Police Officer Nick Walker (Ryan Reynolds) dies on the job by being shot by his partner, Bobby Heyes (Kevin Bacon). He is sent to the R.I.P.D. His new job is to protect the living from the Deados, these sort of demon looking things. He and his new partner Roy Pulsipher (Jeff Bridges) search earth looking for the Deados. As the story line progresses when Nick was alive he was in possession of a piece of the Staff of Jericho which can bring back the dead to Earth. Now Nick has to try and stop the deados putting the staff together.

The film had a Men in Black feel to it. Two men fighting supernatural beings and try to save Earth. I absolutely love MIB. After watching this movie though, I wonder if I would have loved it if I saw it for the first time today. RIPD felt a little flat and rushed. It had it’s funny moments but I couldn’t hold to much interest in the film. Don’t get me wrong, I love watching Ryan Reynolds but this film was just okay. Not great, just okay. Also, Kevin Bacon as a bad guy felt sort of weird. I can’t stop thinking about Footloose when I look at him. His character seemed like it was an older man trying to look and act young. Just not  a good fit for Bacon.

What I did like was how the RIPD would not look like themselves when in front of living. Roy was a sexy young blonde female and Nick was a old chinese man. It was pretty funny.

My Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

