The Source Family (2012)

Directors: Maria Demopoulos, Jodi Wille
USA, English

It was interesting. I don’t want to go into much detail about this movie cause it was beyond me a little bit…

Back in the 70’s there was a group of people who followed (even worshiped) a man named YaHoWha. To this group he was their leader. The documentary spoke with many people who followed him. Some 100% disagree and regret their time with him and others still wish he was around.

YaHoWha aka James Edward Baker and his followers owned a restaurant. At first everything was about peace and love. But things started to go down hill. I guess you could say it was a cult. He was an older man and his followers were in their teens to 20s. People freely married each other and had sex with each other.

the-source-family.3To me and because of the way I grew up, this seems utterly crazy. Why would people up and leave their family and follow some stranger. But I guess back then, kids didn’t have that father figure or were lost. They needed guidance and he was their man.

I thought it was really interesting to see where his followers were today. Some people thought his teachings were crazy while others still live by them to this day.

For me, I really couldn’t connect much with the film. Everything about it was against what I’ve grown up with but it was worth listening to different view points and experiences of former members.

My Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

