Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Director: Alan Taylor
USA, English

Forgive me! I watched this movie back in November, but I’ve been caught up with my Doctor Who series that I’m lacking in my review of movies!

The film picks off where the Avengers left off. Our friend Thor(Chris Hemsworth) is back in Asgard doing his duties has the son of Odin (Anthony Hopkins). Meanwhile Dr. Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) and her intern Darcy Lewis (Kat Dennings) traveled to London to do some fieldwork. In reality, she’s looking for Thor. While looking for holes and gaps on the Earth in London, she gets teleported through one into an another world. She gets infected by the Aether, which is a powerful weapon which the Dark Elf Malekith (Christopher Eccleston) is seeking. Jane ends up back on Earth and Thor notices she was gone for a moment. Jane realizes that whatever she was infected with is powerful and distractive. Thor brings her back to Asgard to heal her.

Malekith is the enemy of Odin’s father Bor. When he finds out that someone took the Aether he goes after them and rampages through Asgard. Sadly, Thor’s mother, Frigga (Rene Russo), is killed while protecting Jane. 😦

Loki (Tom Hiddleston) is locked away in prison. He hears of his mother death and it upsets him. His mother was the only person who he believed really cared about him. She would give him things while he was locked away. Thor asked Loki to help him kill Malekith and save Jane. The two brothers put aside their difference and work together to save both Earth and Asgard. Or did they?

I’ll stop there. No need to continue because it was pretty good!

I really liked how the film touched on family values. Obviously not everyone’s dad is not the ruler of a kingdom. But We see a mother torn between her husband and two sons. I loved how Frigga was still very motherly towards Loki. Although he killed people and wanted to take over the worlds, she still loves him because he is her son. We see a father her is hurt that his child is as evil as Loki is, but he knows he has a world to rule and must abide by the laws. Thor on the other hand is very pissed off with his brother like his father. But he truly cares for him like his mother. He loves his brother, even if he is evil. Loki on the other hand seems to have fully separated himself from his father and Thor. However, he still feels a close bond with his mother even though he wont show it in front of her. They might be gods, but they have family problems like anyone else. Just on a higher level than everyone else.

There were things about this movie that I did enjoy. The love story between Thor and Jane is great. I love how Jane is not a damsel in distress, but she works along side Thor to bring down Malekith. Jane has the brains and the guts to fight! Jane’s friends/colleagues are too funny. Whatever Darcy says is crazy and Dr. Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgård) is running around naked. Too funny! I think Loki is one of my favorite villains! When he was walking with his brother, for a split second he became Captain America. The dialogue for the scene was gold! Lastly, the continuity of the marvel films is great. I don’t find myself trying to figure out time periods between all the films. They stay with each other. Also, can I just say… Malekith is Doctor #9…just saying…

However, there were things about this film I did not like. I loved how awkward Thor was in the first film. I didn’t see that too much in this one. The biggest downfall for me is how generic these comic book films have been. Not to say they aren’t great, but I guess they are all kind of the same. I’m sure the comic books are more complex and exciting than they are showing in the films. Maybe I start reading those instead.

Overall, this was an good film that had great moments. But I think I’m looking for more in these comic book movies.

My Rating 8/10

Leave a Reply

