A Band Called Death (2012)

Directors: Mark Christopher Covino, Jeff Howlett
USA, English

If you love music, any type of music, this is definitely worth the watch! The doc is about three brothers. They were black doing rock (which was considered “white” music. The brothers, David, Bobby, and Dannis Hackney played rock music in Detroit during the 70s. To be more specific they played punk rock music. Way before punk rock was even heard of! However, because they were black and playing a different sound, it was hard to sign the brothers. What made it really hard was that their band was called “Death”.

We go through the history of the band and what happened to the band members after Death broke up. Two of the brothers turned into Reggae musicians and the oldest kept trying to keep the dream of Death alive. It wasn’t until decades later that their music started to circulate in college parties. One particular party, a band member’s son heard his dad’s voice coming out of a song. After that, Death started to emerge again and bigger than ever!

This film was great! I loved learning about the history. I loved that these brothers did something different. I loved that their mother supported them fully even though it was driving everyone else crazy. I loved that one of their sons found out that his dad was in an amazing punk rock band. This story seemed almost too good to be true, but it’s true. The only thing I didn’t like was that I wanted more details. but that’s just me.

My Rating: 9/10

