Frankie and Grace Seasons 1 & 2 (2015 – 2016)

Channel: Netflix
USA, English

*Before I begin, I want to let you all know I’ve been on hiatus for the past two years due. You get busy and priorities change. I plan to write more this year. Plan to, will I commit? Who knows, it’s my blog and I can do whatever I want. Enjoy – Cyril *

So I just recently watched the second season recently. I’ve been waiting for this since the first season ended last year. I enjoyed it so much!

 

GF_EP111_MM_110414_0222-0257_R_COMP_CROP1.JPG

Frankie and Grace is a comedy about two older women whose husbands left them after 40 years of marriage for each other and they are trying to navigate their new lives. Grace is a retired business woman and Frankie is an artist. The two women are complete opposites of each other, but through the series we watch their friendship grown. It’s fun to watch them figure themsevles out and try new and different things together.

Who knew I’d be so interested in the lives of two elderly white women. The main characters of the series are two upperclass white women (yes Frankie may be a “hippie” but her ex-husband is a successful lawyer, so I still classified her as upperclass). The majority of the characters are white, with the exception of Bud, Frankie’s son, and Jacob, Frankie’s boyfriend. Also, the majority of the characters are upperclass.

I definitely wish there were more diversity when it comes to race and class.

The show does a “meh” job showcasing the gay community. Obviously, the LGBTQ community is vastly diverse, but the show only focuses on gay white men.

Obviously, the show has its down falls. But I still love this show!

The best part of the show for me are the characters

grace-and-frankie-let-downJane Fonda plays Grace Hanson. First off, Jane Fonda of the 80s work out videos. How cool is that? Also, I want to look as young as she does at the age of 78. Grace is all business, a little stuck up, and a bit of a drunk, but Fonda’s interpretation of Grace is spot on. Frankie Bergstein is played by Lily Tomlin. I’ll be honest, I can’t say I know her work. Just I just wikipedia-ed it and she was the voice of Ms. Frizzle from the Magic School Bus! I knew her voice was familiar! Frankie is a carefree, art love, weed smoking hippie. Tomlin is the perfect Frankie. Fonda’s and Tomlin’s interactions what drives the show and their chemistry works. Two polar opposites finding coming ground on the fact their husbands married each other.

I didn’t know this, but this isn’t the first time the two of them acted together. The co-starred in the 80’s comedy 9 to 5. For those who know it, it’s must be great to see these two working together again…right?

tv_gracie2aTheir ex-husbands are played by Martin Sheen (Robert Hanson) and Sam Waterston (Sol). It’s exciting to see Martin Sheen play a very different type of character. Not that I am a Martin Sheen expert, but it’s cool to see a veteran actor take on a new challenge. Robert is bit like Grace and Sol is like Frankie. I can’t say they’re my favorite characters, but they are important nonetheless.

Grace-and-Frankie-1x11-Brianna-Coyote-BudGrace and Robert’s grown children are Brianna Hanson (June Diane Raphael) and Mallory Hanson (Brooklyn Decker). Brianna is a spunky woman who took over her mother’s business and Mallory is the nicer sister who is a stay-at-home mom with two kids and twins on the way. They are usually seen bickering with Frankie’s and Sol’s grown (adopted) children Nwabudike “Bud”(Baron Vaughn) and Coyote Ethan Embry. Bud is a lawyer like his father and the voice of reason in his family. Coyote is a recovering addict and a bit childish. All four of them act like siblings (except for Coyote and Mallory who had some kind of relationship in the past). The four of them are just trying to make the best out of their weird connected family situation.

The episode plot lines are alright, but the season plot lines are what keeps me glued to the TV.

For me, the characters are the best of series. I just want to know what happens to them next. If you haven’t seen it, you should! All on Netflix for your viewing pleasure.

My rating: 7/10

Season 1 Trailer

Season 2 Trailer

Leave a Reply

